Reverberations, part 3

December 25 – Photo

A present to yourself. Sift through all the photos of you from the past year. Choose one that best captures you; either who you are, or who you strive to be. Find the shot of you that is worth a thousand words. Share the image, who shot it, where, and what it best reveals about you.

Last weekend in October. Tri-City Park. Shot by my girlfriend Andrea Kay Elliott. I think, so far, these photos best reveal me. Period.

December 24 Prompt – Everything’s OK

What was the best moment that could serve as proof that everything is going to be alright? And how will you incorporate that discovery into the year ahead? (Author: Kate Inglis)

So many “Everything’s OK” moments. In fact, around early October, I began looking for them, on purpose. And now they show up every single day.

In a street sign. In a song. In someone else’s post or tweet or Facebook update. In an email. In a dream. In text messages. A smile. In the way I can see my reflection in your shining eyes. And in the time you take to explain it to me so I can understand.

December 23 – New Name

Let’s meet again, for the first time. If you could introduce yourself to strangers by another name for just one day, what would it be and why? (Author: Becca Wilcott)

omg! i'm wanda!

December 22 – Travel

How did you travel in 2010? How and/or where would you like to travel next year? (Author: Tara Hunt)

Sedona, a Mexican Riviera cruise, home to Oregon in August. Lots of little travel stints. And of course, mobilenotarytalin’ it which can be several small trips in one day. That was 2010.

I’m hoping Australia/New Zealand is drawing closer. I’m not sure I see the complete details of how it might happen in 2011. You never know though and I like looking forward to it. For now, I have two web clients down under and you can bet I’ll be making friends with them and possibly asking to borrow a couch or visit couchsurfing.org. 🙂

December 21 – Future Self

Imagine yourself five years from now. What advice would you give your current self for the year ahead? (Bonus: Write a note to yourself 10 years ago. What would you tell your younger self?) (Author: Jenny Blake)



December 20 – Beyond Avoidance

What should you have done this year but didn’t because you were too scared, worried, unsure, busy or otherwise deterred from doing? (Bonus: Will you do it?) (Author: Jake Nickell)

I hinted at this. Several times actually. In December 13’s Action prompt, I said straight out, “To talk into this video camera, that’s been set-up in my office for three months and pretend it’s you.” And December 18th’s Try is mostly all about it too.

The true story about this is I wanted to do a video, for a new thing I created in my web business. I thought a video of me telling you the story of why I created the thing would be a good idea. Plus, I’ve been being nudged from a few of the people assigned to nudging me… a video will go far. It will!? Hmm, how far do I want to go?

I finally stopped shoulding myself about it all, just like the Try post said… “Until eventually, I gave up.”

This video… A video… will come when it comes. It’s more important for me to relax and have fun with this. Avoidance can only last so long. It serves its purpose well too, because eventually, it brings me back around to asking what’s really important to me (realignment). For now, my focus is to remember to have fun. When I’m ready for more, fun & I will see you in a video 😉

December 19 – Healing

What healed you this year? Was it sudden, or a drip-by-drip evolution? How would you like to be healed in 2011? (Author: Leonie Allan)

This year, I had a healing in perception. Seriously. It’s something I focus on every single day now. How I see things.

Sometimes, it feels like I can feel my perception healing. Like when I’m brave enough to be voice-to-voice with someone else, sifting through a misunderstanding. Or just maintaining a level of clarity in the conversation, requires sorting through each of our perceptions… and figuring out what is really going on.

The other speaks. You listen. And you hear the thoughts inside your head, changing shape. Dissolving even. You look inside your head and realize everything has changed. And that everything is only one thing… perception.

In 2011, may we all continue to heal our perception of how we are different from one another. May we go even further in the contemplation of ourselves and consider we are no different than Source itself. A living, breathing, physical expression of the Divine. May each of us go from perceiving our Divinity, to knowing it.

Next year, my wish for healing is to be reminded constantly of my Divine nature. To treat myself (and others) accordingly. Relaxing more each moment, into my Divine self.

There’s a love that’s Divine, and it’s yours and it’s mine… ~Van Morrison, Have I Told You Lately

December 18 – Try

What do you want to try next year? Is there something you wanted to try in 2010? What happened when you did / didn’t go for it? (Author: Kaileen Elise)

Next year – more in-person social media events… okay, one will do. One would… I mean will… be plenty for me.

Try in 2010 – naturally, all I can think about is what I didn’t do last year; that I really wanted to do. I guess, the compassionate me that trusts the process and all that, would say it’s in progress. And it is. But it really doesn’t help me feel better about it.

This is what is so distasteful to me about the word Try. It feels full of effort. And this year was all about easy. All year long I practiced being more & more aware of when I make it harder for myself. Or trying.

Until eventually, I gave up.

I said to myself, “No more trying. This will come when it comes. And, I need to find satisfaction with where I am with this or nothing will ever move.” So, that’s what I’m doing. Looking for the reasons to be satisfied with everything I did do in 2010.

More than satisfied. Because there’s a reason I put off doing what I really wanted to do. Resistance is under there. And wouldn’t it be better if I brought hopefulness or better yet, a positive expectation of how it might all turn out? Instead of beating myself up for not doing the thing I wanted to do?

So there. I tried. Trying just didn’t work for me. Or stopped working for me. A while ago. Last year, to be exact.

Trying has been replaced with knowing. And I am knowing that 2011 will be the best yet.

December 17 – Lesson Learned

What was the best thing you learned about yourself this past year? And how will you apply that lesson going forward? (Author: Tara Weaver)

See December 5th – Let go in Reverberations, part 1.

December 16 – Friendship

How has a friend changed you or your perspective on the world this year? Was this change gradual, or a sudden burst? (Author: Martha Mihalick)

grateful 4 the truthtellers in my life. those friends who help me see what i can't, hear what i don't and lead me back endlessly 2my own truth
Reverb10.com. An annual event and online initiative to reflect on your year and manifest what’s next. The end of the year is an opportunity to reflect on what’s happened, and to send out reverberations for the year ahead. With Reverb10, you can do both!

Leave a Reply

