Writing Wishes For 2011

Reverb10.com. An annual event and online initiative to reflect on your year and manifest what’s next. The end of the year is an opportunity to reflect on what’s happened, and to send out reverberations for the year ahead.

December 2 Writing. What do you do each day that doesn’t contribute to your writing — and can you eliminate it? (Author: Leo Babauta).

This is such a hot topic for me. Very excited when I read it this morning. Irony is, here I sit. Late evening. About to hit publish.

I drank up many great posts today, in and outside of #reverb10, wondering if/when I would have time to write my own installment and laughing, at myself and today’s prompt.

My Short & Sweet

I’m with @whollyjeanne on this one,

Lately everything contributes to my writing. And nothing – nothing at all – was gonna’ come between me and my writing on this day. grief is messy

But I think somehow the prompt is getting at what @DanielleLaPorte says here about the ‘mastery of stop’ and saying no to what’s distracting and draining,

2. I will not leave Twitter, Facebook and Gmail open while I write. I need blocks of two to three hours to think clearly and craft that clarity into something useful. Writing is a “yes!” to all three of the questions. what’s on your stop doing list?

In terms of manifesting what’s next for my writing, I’’ll start here. In 2011, I say ‘no’ more often to distraction. I become “let nothing stand in my way” determination. And remain open and awake to the offer.

6 thoughts on “Writing Wishes For 2011

  1. RT @myndemayfield I wish I may, I wish I might, have the wish i wish tonight… Writing Wishes for 2011 http://bit.ly/gwa3hk #Reverb10

    Like

  2. I agree, distraction – particular in the form of TV – is definitely what stops me from writing and doing my most productive work! It’s tough but I’m also working on eliminating distractions so I can get my most awesome work done. Thanks for sharing! Looking forward to more #Reverb10 posts from you.

    Like

  3. This reminds me of one of the Saints as in Saint Theresa i think of “the little flower”. she wrote “Let Nothing Disturb You.” she was referring to the practice of the presence of God/Goddess/Great Spirit, Holy Spirit) you get my drift. Drifting into the muse of writing means ‘turning’. turn, turn turn your attention inwards to THAT presence, that ‘still small voice’ that ever seeks to spin inspiration thru your body-mind. and show up. be born. it’s presence here there and everywhere. Let nothing disturb you:)

    Like

  4. keeping twitter/facebook/whathaveyou up in another window is one of my biggest personal stumbling blocks. I know that I have to leave that particular habit behind if 2011 is going to bring forth the Progress I desire

    Like

  5. oh, sugar. thank you for the sweet mention. sorry i’m just now seeing it. how is your writing coming, that’s something this inquiring mind wonders about frequently;)

    Like

  6. knows a thing or sixteen about writing, @myndemayfield. (she just needs to settle in and do it more often) http://bit.ly/gcGFSm #reverb10

    Like

Leave a Reply

