Pretty Wings

Music is such an important part of my life.

It soothes my heart when I feel broken. It inspires me. I feel strengthened and fortified somehow by music. Mostly, music articulates in a way that only music can. And I love that about it. That a song can completely captivate me… grab my heart and stop whatever else is happening.  Lyrics, rhythms, melodies and their artists. I am head over heels.

It’s Friday. And it feels like a good time to share how music moved me this week. How it showed up. What the song told me. Who I thought about while I listened. Just really anything I want to share about why this song and why now.

I’ve posted videos in the past. But starting today, I’m officially introducing a new category on my blog I’m calling Music That Saves Me.

My intention is just to share a song that touched me in some way during the past week. I plan to do this each Friday. But I’m not going to “challenge” myself (or you) to anything. I’m just gonna let the music tell the story. So here goes…

Maxwell

Huge fan. Fell in love with him listening to his album called Embrya, late 90’s I think. Lyrics, the tunes, his voice, his super expressive singing style… all amazing.

Pretty Wings. Not the first time I’ve heard it. But this time, I listened and tears just flowed and made my face all wet. Mostly because I am deeply in the throws of practicing new ways of being with myself while I let go of some stuff. Mostly ideas about the past. Previous versions of myself. And those versions of me that I really need to say goodbye too.

This song to me, is about saying goodbye. Or letting go. Or giving love wings to fly. It feels so scary to let go of love. Maxwell also expresses how deeply grateful he is for knowing the experience in the first place.

And that choosing to let go is really about choosing to live

It’s fall, the season for shedding. Have you checked out Bindu’s Shed Project? It’s about half way through, but it doesn’t really matter what time you start. Bindu is sharing about some of the complexity of letting go and reminds me it’s a part of life, and always will be… I’m re-orienting myself toward loss by becoming more friendly toward it and myself as I practice letting go.

Maxwell helped this week.

[This is a video post, so you might need to click through if you’re reading this via email or RSS.]

Time will bring the real end of our trial
One day there’ll be no remnants,
no trace no residual
No feelings within ya
One day you won’t remember me.

Your face will be the reason I smile
But I will not see what I cannot have forever
I’ll always love ya
I hope you feel the same.

Woah Oh, you played me dirty, your game was so bad
You toyed with my affliction
Had to fill out my prescription
For the remedy
I had to set you free.

Away from me
To see clearly the way that love can be
When you are not with me

I had to leave
I had to live
I had to leave
I had to live…

If I can’t have you
Let love set you free to fly your pretty wings around.

Pretty wings, your pretty wings, your
Pretty wings. Pretty wings around.

I came wrong you were right
Transformed your love into lie
Baby believe me I’m sorry I told you lies

I turned day into night
Sleep till I die a thousand times
I should have showed you better nights, better times, better days
And I miss you more and more

If I can’t have you
Let love set you free
To fly your pretty wings around

Pretty wings, your pretty wings, your
Pretty wings, your Pretty wings around

One thought on “Pretty Wings

  1. Ah Music Saves Me too. I love music and it feeds me. i love making it. listening to it. I love David Wilcox’s Language of the Heart, i love Marc Cohen’s Listening Room ( just discovered this) I love the music Dave and I have written: http://www.thevanmanens.com and i love songs that are dark, Jackson Brown’s For Everyman, and sultry and pure music poetry. Thanks Mynde for your sharing of awareness like this.

    Coach Helene Van Manen..The Singer..the Dancer..the Music Momma.

    Like

Leave a Reply

