Does More Traffic Mean More Clients?

On Sunday, I signed up for Michael Martine’s 5-day course on blog traffic-building. It was free. And he’s a big fish in the blogosphere. So I figure he knows what he’s talking about.

Today, I listened to module one – which is about blowing up the myths everyone who’s ever built a blog has. Like blog traffic is the cookie, only given to the special ones. The little fishes get no cookie. And I’ve been a little fish looking for a cookie for just about three years now.

This is one of the biggest challenges a lot of the people I work with have. After, of course, getting their tech savvy on and building their first blog (or website). Because after you’ve built it, you sit there and wonder (as I’ve said before in other posts) why the phone isn’t ringing off the hook or your email box isn’t exploding with requests for your services or e-junkie notifications that you’ve just sold another product.

Someday, I’ll have a waiting list long enough to increase my rates to $500 an hour. But not today. Today, I’m happy to work with one person, at a time, at $60-95 per hour. Seriously, deliriously happy. Just one-at-a-time.

And I’m still left with the conundrum of why aren’t they (my people) flocking to me?

When I first left corporate America and had a savings account to invest in my business, I fell prey to one of those services that promises to get your website ranking and get your phone to ring with qualified leads.

I spent about $300 per month for about three months.

I would google the keywords this company was helping me place for and sure enough, there I was. Sitting there. Waiting to be clicked on. This company even had tracking in place to measure when people were clicking on my link, and the number was pretty decent. However, their sales pitch about paying for the investment (if I landed one new client each month, I would be even) was not materializing. Not one new client from that investment.

And I did ask. I try to remember to always ask, “How did you find me?” And retrace steps they took, where they clicked and specifically what did they find on my website that caused them to pick up the phone call (besides my big bold “Free 30-Minute Session” disclaimer in 72 different places).

After three months, I pulled the plug because I had figured out what was going on. It wasn’t that the company I was paying to help me rank was underdelivering. They were placing me high in Google at keywords we had worked on together and chosen.

What I realized is that when people landed on my website, they weren’t connecting. It was all about what I was saying. And who I was speaking to. And I realized that everything has to do with that. The content. The writing. The what-I’m-saying part. And if it doesn’t resonate or connect with a reader, well you know the drill. You’ve been there. Everyday we go there. Open Google, search for something, visit a few links… all in about 2.5 seconds.

2.5 seconds. That all I have. So using my words to connect became an increasingly important objective for the success of my business.

And today, Michael Martine’s first module only underlined fiercely this exact learning. From three years ago. It’s all about being clear. Crystal-like.

Like knowing who, exactly, my people are. What keeps them up at night? What are they aching and hungering for? And really write about that in a way they feel heard and seen.

And that’s not all of it. The next piece was figuring out how to say to them that I have something to help them with that. That thing that keeps them up at night. Something different than what they’ve tried before.

It’s an art form. Writing. And a process. That unfolds itself in iterations. Everything I’ve done online has been an experiment in what works and what doesn’t and continues to be.

And not one iteration that has brought me to my today would exist if I didn’t begin with writing it down first. Finding a way to crack open the Word doc or get out that legal pad and answer the questions.

I just keep polishing and polishing the words. And they continue to become clearer and clearer.

And trusting that in the process of iterating it, what’s unique about me will show through. I’m less worried about competition than I am about getting those first questions answered clearly (mostly because I don’t believe in competition).

So if I could give you one small tip, if you’re just starting out. Don’t go spending a ton of money on getting your website ranked. Unless you’re ready. If you’re not ready, and you’re like me, working on this art form of writing so my perfect peeps feel heard and seen and understand exactly how I help them solves their problems… these are wiser places to invest in your business.

Mark Silver has a heart-centered approach to answering these questions. Michael Martine’s free 5-day blog traffic building course is another place. I’ve also worked with Isabel Parlett who helped me like 1000 iterations ago… to begin reaching for and finding the words to rock the world.

And I’m not even looking to rock the world. I just want to do what I love and help you do it too.

5 thoughts on “Does More Traffic Mean More Clients?

  1. Mynde, your “word work” is truly the key to opening hearts, minds and spirits! Great job in a very pivotal economic climate. Carry on in your warm way.

    Like

  2. this is a tremendous help. i’ve been wondering if i should “do” something to get more people over to my site…i think i’ll spend some more time getting clear and working my words. thanks for this.
    .-= Dian Reid´s last blog ..Love Letter to Mom =-.

    Like

  3. It does me so much good to know that I’m not the only one doing one at a time work. Thank you for that. I love your blog and your tweets and I’ve found you inspiring for a long time now. But I’m another coach and possibly not your target market. Like you I spend half my life word-smithing, waking up in the night to jot down a phrase or a concept or a bit of a phrase, thinking ‘I’ve got it’ and then changing it in 3 weeks time. Tweaking, teasing and testing. It keeps me busy… but I wish I was busier helping instead of busier writing. But then I love writing so… Anyway, thank you for sharing from the heart. It made my day.

    Like

  4. Hey Dawn,
    Thank you soooo much for the kind words… your time, energy, following. Truly deeply appreciate that. And btw, most of my clients are coaches 🙂

    I find writing is one of my best practices for “letting go.” Letting go of my ideas about what the writing needs to be or say. Remaining committed to the practice of it, having faith that as I do practice, my writing gets better, and my message gets clearer.

    It’s wonderful to discover we’re not alone, isn’t it?

    Like

Leave a Reply

