Best of ’09 – Mashup

Best of ’09 is a series of posts inspired by Gwen Bell’s The Best of 09 Blog Challenge. It’s a challenge designed to help me write more and rediscover more grateful moments in my 2009! Hopefully, 31 posts in 31 days 😉

So I got a little behind, which is perfectly OK. I knew when I started this adventure it wouldn’t be perfect. Perfect isn’t the goal. Writing is. So here’s my Mashup of the last few days I’ve missed. Short and sweet.

Shop. Online or offline, where did you spend most of your mad money this year?
The economy ate my mad money. I used to buy lots of shoes and bags when I was still doing my corporate gig. Still love sexy girly shoes, just can’t wear them (for long). So I don’t really buy them anymore. Any extra money this year went directly back into me via continuing education and even then, I didn’t do as much as I have in the past. Money is nice but it’s not everything. It comes and goes. This year (and really the past three) I’ve learned how to live with less. And I’ve learned how to be happy with less. Which is such a blessing. Life, for me, is actually more enjoyable with less.

Car ride. What did you see? How did it smell? Did you eat anything as you drove there? Who were you with?
Car rides to Bakersfield and Palmdale. Smelled like In & Out Burger sometimes. Sometimes like the dead pear I found in her backseat after cleaning out her car (which is really her purse). She says she can’t help it.

New person. She came into your life and turned it upside down. He went out of his way to provide incredible customer service. Who is your unsung hero of 2009?
Well there’s one name that comes to mind, however he’s not very new or unsung. I sang about him all year long because it’s nearly impossible to keep my mouth shut when I find something good. He’s not a hero for the obvious reasons either (like serving our country). He’s my hero because he didn’t bail when it got icky and messy. It’s weird how much I respect someone who is able to stay when it gets incredibly uncomfortable and you really just want to run away. But he didn’t. He stayed. And asked great questions. And said truths that needed to be said. With a lot of love. Charlie was the guy that mediated the dissolution of a business partnership and he’s my sung-at-the-top-of-my-lungs hero for that. Thank you Charlie Gilkey.

Project. What did you start this year that you’re proud of?
I’m proud of the way I decide to keep going. To create a space that supports my creativity and growth. That’s where msquared came from. I was having a hard time writing this year on another blog because it was all gunked up with unresolved stuff. Everytime I visited the blog to try and write, it just wasn’t coming. It was really sad. So I decided to create a different space just to see if it would feel different and open up channels for the words to begin flowing again. Which is exactly what happened.

Startup. What’s a business that you found this year that you love? Who thought it up? What makes it special?
I’m going to cheat here. I found this business a couple of years ago. But I do love it. I love the idea behind it. The artist makes custom jewelry that’s infused with intention. A stone is chosen with a specific focus: abundance, peace, intuition, passion, love. And what’s unique is the stone is actually worn on the inside of the piece, so it’s touching your skin. There’s a stone you can choose for the outside too. Rings or bangles. Meet Holly Riddel. And if you stop by her Twitter or Facebook, be sure and wish her a Happy ‘Christmas Day’ Birthday.

Web tool. It came into your work flow this year and now you couldn’t live without it. It has simplified or improved your online experience.
Oh goodness. This one is hard. I use so many tools. I’m a technology geek and can’t imagine my life without my laptop or Droid Eris or Twitter or WordPress or Photoshop. All of these tools help me express my personal creativity. But I’d say the one tool that I use everyday that makes life easier has got to be TweetDeck. It took a while for me to build up who I follow on Twitter and after a while, that pipe got really big and I began missing important tweets. TweetDeck helped me manage the pipe. Now, I never have to miss another important tweet again. I just wish there was a Droid application for my phone.

4 thoughts on “Best of ’09 – Mashup

  1. Congrats on catching up and doing it entertainingly. Enjoyed reading your post and I wondered where exactly was your destination in my fair city… (Bakersfield)?
    .-= Julie Jordan Scott´s last blog ..Random Writing Tools burst Block Bubble through Absurdity =-.

    Like

  2. Hi Julie,
    My girlfriend is FROM B-town (as she calls it). Her family still lives there… mom, step-dad, grandparents. We visit often hence the invitation for a tweet-up. Maybe we should exchange contact info because I’d love to talk with you about writing and so much more!

    Hugs,
    Mynde

    Like

  3. wow – that’s quite a catchup post. i’m impressed – good job.
    .-= wholly´s last blog ..throw away the red pen, i get it now =-.

    Like

  4. wow – that’s quite the impressive catchup. good job.
    p.s. already posted one comment, but not sure it went through, so am try, try, trying again.
    .-= wholly jeanne´s last blog ..throw away the red pen, i get it now =-.

    Like

Leave a Reply

