Best of ’09 – Word

Best of ’09 is a series of posts inspired by Gwen Bell’s The Best of 09 Blog Challenge. It’s a challenge designed to help me write more and rediscover more grateful moments in my 2009! Hopefully, 31 posts in 31 days 😉

Word or phrase. A word that encapsulates your year.

2009 was Truthful.

This year I told myself the truth more often. I told others the truth more often. Which, if you know me, wouldn’t be a huge surprise. It’s easy to say some truths. But there are some truths we need to say that make our voices shake and our self-doubt run wild.

Like telling the truth, but worrying that the other person is going to leave when you do. That they can’t accept it. Or they think you’re wrong about your truth and want to convince you otherwise.

Or telling the truth to myself. Which is usually about seeing that I am doing way better than I ever give myself credit for.

Or seeing truth revealed to me through my worldly experiences. Moments of synchronicity that help me see there is a greater plan unfolding itself always.

The truth that it’s all mystery and gently reminding myself to turn more deeply into me for trust, compassion, love and approval.

Comes The Dawn

After a while…
you learn the subtle difference between
holding a hand
and chaining a soul.

And you learn…
that love doesn’t mean security,
and you begin to learn
that kisses aren’t contracts
and presents aren’t promises.

And you begin…
to accept your defeats with your head up
and your eyes open,
with the grace of an adult,
not the grief of a child.

And you learn…
to build all your roads on today because
tomorrow’s ground is too uncertain for plans,
and futures have a way of falling down in mid-flight.

After a while…
you learn that even sunshine burns
if you get too much.
So plant your own garden
and decorate your own soul,
instead of waiting
for someone to
bring you flowers.

And you learn…
that you really can endure…
that you really are strong
and you really do have worth.
And you learn and learn and learn…
with every goodbye, you learn.

~ Veronica A. Shoftstall

One thought on “Best of ’09 – Word

  1. oh, this is big – huge – in so many ways. telling the truth to self and to others – just telling it without overfretting about how they will receive it. and that poem – oh how i do love that poem. you know she wrote it for her high school senior year book, right? just spit it out for the annual and thought no more of it. my eyes are now officially green.
    .-= wholly´s last blog ..denver or bust (aka: best road trip) =-.

    Like

Leave a Reply

