Best of ’09 – Packaging

Best of ’09 is a series of posts inspired by Gwen Bell’s The Best of 09 Blog Challenge. It’s a challenge designed to help me write more and rediscover more grateful moments in my 2009! Hopefully, 31 posts in 31 days 😉

Best packaging. Did your headphones come in a sweet case? See a bottle of tea in another country that stood off the shelves?

I’ve been hanging out on fellow challenger blogs reading about packaging.

Yawn.

I guess it’s just not a natural thing for me to consider the package of something. I guess in the end, it’s not the package I’m interested in.

Isn’t packaging really just an attempt to get my attention? Want me. Buy me. This is cool. A flimsy distraction that ends up in the bottom of my recycling bin. I think packaging gets in the way mostly.

I feel kinda boring or like maybe something is wrong with me because I don’t notice packaging. So I talked this over, mostly with myself. And thought, “maybe there is a hidden challenge I can rise to here?” Writing isn’t always about the stuff we like to write about.

And here’s where it led. Packaging, to me, is not the real thing and I want the real thing.

There is an analogy though that is coming through. Peeking around shadowy nothingness in my mind that is the topic of packaging. And that is, we all have packages. And it’s not who we really are.

Whether I’m helping someone plan and strategize on their web presence or looking at an artist’s fine piece of creativity, it’s just the shell. I am forever and always more curious about what is hidden away within the creator and where the creativity came from.

The packaging is good. It’s pretty and attractive. Whether it’s a box of tampons, a web presence or the artist herself, I guess in the end, the packaging serves its purpose. To get me to see more deeply and go inside.

2 thoughts on “Best of ’09 – Packaging

  1. RT @MyndeMayfield: packaging. #best09. http://bit.ly/5MHqXf get whatever tools u need 2 go inside & get yr package open, ok?!–that's it!!

    Like

  2. very nicely done. i, too, love to read/hear/talk about process, and i find that packaging is often a stepping stone to that conversation. thanks for crystalizing that for me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

