Best of ’09 – Album

Best of ’09 is a series of posts inspired by Gwen Bell’s The Best of 09 Blog Challenge. It’s a challenge designed to help me write more and rediscover more grateful moments in my 2009! Hopefully, 31 posts in 31 days 😉

Album of the year. What’s rocking your world?

[This post contains a video, so you’ll have to click through if you’re reading this via email or RSS.]

Music always rocks my world. And I love it!

I love music artists even more. And how their lyrics say what my own words have not yet been able to come together and say. And how their music or sound of their voice takes me completely away. Arrests me. I listen closely to the lyrics because I want to be arrested. I want to feel understood. And a song always seems to show up at the perfect time. Like when Pandora fed me Rope Swings and Avalanches as I wrote about my biggest challenge and put it in a post.

I didn’t have a favorite album this year. Last year I did. Last year, I did not take Sarah Bareilles’ Little Voice out of my car CD player for 8 months. But that was last year.

This year there is no one album that stuck out for me . But one song did.

And I only tweeted this 100x or so, so if you follow me, this won’t be a big surprise.

The song that really captures where I’ve been growing the most this year (and probably the last five) is Say by John Mayer from the movie, The Bucket List.

Take all of your wasted honor
Every little past frustration
Take all of your so-called problems,
Better put ’em in quotations

Say what you need to say [x8]

Walking like a one man army
Fighting with the shadows in your head
Living out the same old moment
Knowing you’d be better off instead,
If you could only . . .

Say what you need to say [x8]

Have no fear for giving in
Have no fear for giving over
You’d better know that in the end
Its better to say too much
Then never say what you need to say again

Even if your hands are shaking
And your faith is broken
Even as the eyes are closing
Do it with a heart wide open

Say what you need to say [x24]

2 thoughts on “Best of ’09 – Album

  1. Music is food for the soul. The words to the song and your blog post is so inspiring. Thanks, Mynde, for being the authentic woman you are! You rock.
    .-= Lee Miller´s last blog ..The Best of 2009: Blog =-.

    Like

  2. Saying “No worries ” to needless anxiety gives energy & light to December’s darkest days that we can enjoy as an opportunity to be comfortable within our place of grace~ wherever that may be.

    Like

Leave a Reply

