Dropping Our Stories

Byron Katie introduced me to a method of self-inquiry that supports me to see things differently. I learned during coach training about “reframing” which is exactly what happens when you ask yourself her four simple questions:

  1. Is it true?
  2. Can you absolutely know that it’s true?
  3. How do you react when you believe that thought?
  4. Who would you be without the thought?

Tonight on BlogTalkRadio.com, I am featuring an audio presentation of The Work in action. In this selection from http://everypathis.org/ entitled “What We Do For Love” we explore a concept of seeking approval from others and how we show up in our lives when we seek approval from outside ourselves. Fearless Living taught me to ask myself the question, “What if I gave what I’m seeking to myself? Then how would I show up?”

Byron Katie says,

I discovered that when I believed my thoughts, I suffered, but that when I didn’t believe them, I didn’t suffer, and that this is true for every human being. Freedom is as simple as that. I found that suffering is optional. I found a joy within me that has never disappeared, not for a single moment. That joy is in everyone, always.

In her third book, Loving What Is: Four Questions That Can Change Your Life we are offered a way to see how our stories stay alive and cause us immense pain as we hold on to making them right or true. We find a pathway of letting go of what is hurting us and seeing ourselves and our world with more innocence.

There’s more great stuff on Byron Katie’s Squidoo page.

Leave a Reply

